• Email
  • Print

Emergency Preparedness & Safety Commission

Commission Info

Staff Liaison:
Captain Chris Clements
Police Captain
email: clementsc@pacificapolice.org
T: 650-738-7314

Sergeant Tom Cumming
Police Sergeant
email: cummingt@pacificapolice.org

General Inquiries
Captain Chris Clements
email: clementsc@pacificapolice.org

Commission Meeting Times/Locations:

The Pacifica Emergency Preparedness & Safety Commission meets on the third Wednesday of the month at 6:30pm in the front conference room of the police station located at 2075 Coast Highway in Pacifica.

Commission Purpose/Objectives:

The Emergency Preparedness & Safety Commission recommends and advises the city council on programs and activities related to emergency preparedness. Additionally, the commission sits as the appellate body for appeals relating to abandoned/ inoperable vehicle abatement, vehicles parked 72 hours or more and appeals of staff decisions relating to traffic safety issues. The current commissioners' terms are set to expire every calendar year on October 31st.

Commission Members:

Name

Role

Represents

Email

Term Expires

Gregor Blackburn

Chair

blackburng@ci.pacifica.ca.us

10/31/2022

Breck Hitz

Vice Chair

hitzb@ci.pacifica.ca.us

10/31/2021

Feliks Gasanyan

Commissioner

gasanyanf@ci.pacifica.ca.us

10/31/2021

Frank Erbacher

Commissioner

erbacherf@ci.pacifica.ca.us

10/31/2020

Doug Hladky Commissioner   hladkyd@ci.pacifica.ca.us 10/31/2023

Debra Johnson

Commissioner

johnsond@ci.pacifica.ca.us

10/31/2020

Charlie Lotridge  Commissioner   lotridgec@ci.pacifica.ca.us 10/31/2023

Jeanne Salisbury

Commissioner  

salisburyj@ci.pacifica.ca.us

10/31/2021

Evelyn Taverna Commissioner   tavernae@ci.pacifica.ca.us 10/31/2023

 

Ex-Officio Commissioners include:  Mary Bier (Council Member), Marcus Peppers (Jefferson Union High School District), Jorge Machado (Pacifica School District), Peggy Fleming (American Red Cross)

 

Commission Staff and Council Liaisons:

Name

Role

Title

Email

Phone

Chris Clements

Staff Liaison

Police Captain

clementsc@pacificapolice.org

650-738-7314

Mary Bier

City Council Liaison

City Council Member

bierm@ci.pacifica.ca.us

 

 

 

Resources / Other Items of Interest:

Earthquake Safety Video

SMC Alert Network
Pacifica provides its residents with the ability to participate in the county alert system known as SMC Alert. The program allows participates to receive automatic notifcations to their computers, cell phones or any device capable of receiving email on such things as utility outages, road closures and weather warnings. For more information and to sign up, visit www.smcalert.info.

San Mateo County Office of Emergency Services
There are a variety of services available from San Mateo County. For more information, visit www.smcready.org.

California Governor's Office of Emergency Services

Cal OES is responsible for the coordination of overall state agency response to disasters. Assuring the state's readiness to respond to, recover from all hazards and assisting local governments in their emergency preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation.  https://www.caloes.ca.gov.

United States Department of Homeland Security
In addition, there are more resources available from www.ready.gov.

CERT Training
The Pacifica Police Department is offering another session of Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) training at the Pacifica Police Department. You can sign up on line with the following ink: http://www.cityofpacifica.org/depts/police/natural_disasters/cert.asp

Want to find out where hazards are in your area?  Click on the following link:  an interactive map.

72 Hours - Are you Prepared?

Emergency Check List

 

Agenda/Minutes Archive:

Archived Agendas

Archived Minutes

 

2020 Emergency Preparedness & Safety Commission Minutes

Top